The university will award five honorary degrees during the university’s 2022 Commencement ceremonies. Engineer, physician and first woman of color to travel into space Mae C. Jemison will deliver the Commencement address and receive an honorary doctor of science degree.

Rebecca Dresser, JD, will be the Honorary Grand Marshal.

Carla Pugh, MD, PhD, of Stanford University School of Medicine will deliver keynote remarks at the School of Medicine Commencement ceremony.

The other honorary degree recipients and their degrees are:

  • Brian Kobilka, MD, physiologist and a recipient of the 2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry with Robert Lefkowitz for discoveries that revealed how G-protein-coupled receptors function.
  • The Honorable Sonia Sotomayor, an associate justice of the Supreme Court of the United States nominated by President Barack Obama. She is the first Latina justice and the third woman to serve on the Supreme Court.
  • Andrew C. Taylor, a life trustee and dedicated benefactor at WashU, noted civic leader, and philanthropist. Taylor serves as executive chairman of Enterprise Holdings Inc., the privately held business founded in 1957 by his father, Jack Taylor.
  • Barbara Broadhurst Taylor has long supported St. Louis’ civic and cultural organizations and been an advocate for the region’s progress through her board leadership and philanthropy.